CHANDIGARH MC ELECTIONS: Sans names of 5 ex-Mayors, BJP list of 23 nominees out


CHANDIGARH MC ELECTIONS: Sans names of 5 ex-Mayors, BJP list of 23 nominees out

Sans names of five former Mayors, the ruling BJP today declared its first list of 23 candidates, comprising four sitting councillors, councillors’ family members and some new young faces, for the December 24 Municipal Corporation elections.

The suspense over giving the ticket to some sitting councillors and former Mayors will continue till the next list of candidates is announced by the party. Former Mayor Asha Kumari Jaswal has expressed her inability to fight the poll. Sitting Mayor Ravi Kant Sharma has been given the ticket. In the case of former Mayor and city party president Arun Sood, the BJP high command will take the final call.

“Former Mayors and sitting councillors Raj Bala Malik, Davesh Moudgil and Rajesh Kalia are said to be in the danger zone. Along with them, there is also uncertainty about considering the candidature of councillors Heera Negi, Maheshinder Singh Sidhu and former councillor Saurabh Joshi,” said sources.

A party leader reasoned that indiscipline and cross-voting during various MC House elections was the reason behind the “double mind” on their candidature now.

City party chief Arun Sood said, “Based on consultation with the local and national leadership and survey reports, the party has released the names of 23 candidates for the civic body elections. Winnability and dedication towards the party have been considered while finalising the list.”

Those named

Ward No. and candidate

1 Manjeet Kaur, wife of Hukam Chand, secretary, city BJP

3 Dalip Sharma, two-time councillor

4 Savita Gupta, wife of councillor Vinod Aggarwal

5 Nikita Gupta, Mahila Morcha secretary (2018)

6 Saravjit Kaur Dhillon, councillor Jagtar Singh Dhillon’s wife

7 Manoj Sonkar, state vice-president, SC Morcha, Chandigarh

9 Vimla Dubey, councillor Anil Dubey’s wife

10 Rashi Bhasin, social worker

11 Anup Gupta, son of late councillor Rajesh Gupta

13 Prince Bhandula, state convener, Medical & Pharma Cell

15 Gopal Shukla (Pappu): Councillor Chandrawati’s husband

17 Ravi Kant Sharma, Mayor

20 Devi Singh, state office secretary

23 Neha Arora, served as vice-president & gen secy, Mahila Morcha

24 Sachin Kumar Lotiya, nominated councillor in MC

27 Ravinder Rawat, dist gen secy

28 Jaswinder Kaur, gen secy, Mahila Morcha

29 Ravinder Pathania, dist president

30 Sanjeev Grover, Traders’ Cell

31 Bharat Kumar, councillor

33 Kanwarjeet Rana, councillor

34 Bhupinder Sharma, convener, Uttrakhand Cell

35 Rajinder Sharma, dist president, BSNL Society, Sec 50


Leave a Reply