News Today Live

Online News Blog Channel

CLTA Trainee Prinkle Singh upsets Adeshina

ITF Junior Circuit Day one CLTA

CLTA, Chandigarh, January 03, 2017    – In the girls singles 1st round CLTA trainee Prinkle Singh upset 7th seed Adeshina of GBR in straight sets. Prinkle played consistently with her aggressive ground strokes. Prinkle closed the 1st set 6-3. In the 2nd set Prinkle played in a top form and used her experience to close the 2nd set and match by conceding only 2 games 6-2. Top seed Mehak Jain of India defeated Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi in straight sets. In the 1st set Mehak Jain got some resistance from the opponent but finally Mehak used her experience to close the 1st set 6-3. Mehak Jain took the 2nd set and match without conceding a single game 6-0. 3rd seed Thasaporn Naklo of Thailand defeated Harsha Sai Challa of India in an easy match 6-1, 6-3. Other players who moved into pre quarters are Victoria Kalaitzis of Belgium, Sawangkaeew M of Thailand, Aesha Patel and Shivani Manjana.


dsc_0095 dsc_0124 dsc_0154 dsc_0186 dsc_0204 dsc_0231


In the boys 1st round top seed Sidhanth Banthia of India defeated Nabiev of Uzbekistan in straight sets 6-4, 6-2. Vashist Cheruku defeated Rishabh Sharda of CLTA in a three setter match 6-1, 5-7, 6-3. Sacchit Sharma of India upset 4th seed Hazem Naow in straight sets 7-6(7), 6-3. 3rd seed Jack Draper defeated Kabir Manrai in straight sets by conceding only one game 6-1, 6-0. Nikik Reddy, Sidharth Thakran and Sergi Fomin also moved into the pre quarters.

In the boys doubles top seed Uisung Park and Hua-Chen Yu defeated Mritunjay Badola and Abhimanyu Vannemreddy in straight sets 6-2, 6-3. 2nd seed Sidhanth Banthia and Parikshit Somani also won from Arthur Craig Pantino and Siddharth Thakran 6-4, 6-2. Sergey Fomin / Dostanbek Tashbulatov and Megh Bhargav Patel / Alex Solanki also moved into quarters.

In the girls doubles top seed Mihika Yadav and Thasaporn Naklo defeated Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi and Tanisha Kashyap in straight sets 7-5, 6-3. 2nd seed Mehak Jain and Viktoria Kalaitzis defeated Akanksha Bhan and Rhea Verma in a three setter match 6-4, 2-6, 10-8. Harsha Sai Challa / Sabhyata Nihalani and Kuan Yi Lee / Mananchaya Sawangkaew also moved into quarters.

Matches of boys and girls will be played tomorrow from 9:30 a.m. onwards at CLTA Tennis Stadium.

Results are as below:-

Boys Singles 1st Round

  1. Siddhant Banthia [1] bt.Olimjon Nabiev 6-4, 6-2
  2. Sergey Fomin bt.Atharva Sharma 6-2, 6-1
  3. Sacchitt Sharma bt. Hazem Naow [4] 7-6(7), 6-3
  4. Jack Draper [3] bt. Kabir Manrai 6-1, 6-0
  5. Roko Savin bt. Shramay Dhawan 6-3, 6-0
  6. Vasisht Cheruku bt. Rishabh Sharda 6-1, 5-7, 6-3
  7. Nikit Reddy bt. Rithvik Choudary Bollipalli 6-3, 6-1
  8. Siddharth Thakran bt. Shashikant Rajput 6-4, 6-3

Girls Singles 1st Round

  1. Axana Mareen [4] bt.Shivani Swarup 6-1, 6-3
  2. Victoria Kalaitzis bt. Priyanka Jakhar 6-0, 6-0
  3. Mananchaya Sawangkaew bt. Humera Begum Shaik 6-4, 6-2
  4. Prinkle Singh bt. Esther Adeshina [7] 6-3, 6-2
  5. Thasaporn Naklo [3] bt. Harsha Sai Challa 6-1, 6-3
  6. Aesha Patel bt.Yubarani Banerjee 6-2, 6-2
  7. Mahak Jain [1] bt.Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi 6-3, 6-0
  8. Shivani Manjanna bt. Gauri Bhagia 6-1, 6-2

 Boys Doubles 1st Round

  1. Uisung Park / Hua-Chen Yu [1] bt. Mritunjay Badola /Abhimanyu Vannemreddy 6-2, 6-3
  2. Siddhant Banthia / Parikshit Somani [2] bt. Arthur Craig Pantino / Siddharth Thakran 6-4, 6-2
  3. Sergey Fomin / Dostanbek Tashbulatov [4] bt. Kabir Manrai / Sumitpal Singh 7-6(7), 6-4
  4. Megh Bhargav Patel / Alex Solanki bt. Krishan Hooda / Shashikant Rajput 7-5, 6-2

Girls Doubles 1st Round

  1. Thasaporn Naklo / Mihika Yadav [1] bt. Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi / Tanisha Kashyap 7-5, 6-3
  2. Harsha Sai Challa / Sabhyata Nihalani bt. Priska Madelyn Nugroho / Eunji Oh 7-5, 6-3
  3. Kuan Yi Lee / Mananchaya Sawangkaew [4] bt. Muskan Gupta / Shivani Manjanna 6-0, 6-1
  4. Mahak Jain / Victoria Kalaitzis [2] bt. Akanksha Bhan / Rhea Verma 6-4, 2-6, 10-8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *